Dissertations Publications Group Members Former Members Links
Hoveyda Research Group Former Members

Former Postdoctoral Fellows

David Young; Ph. D. with D. Hart at Ohio State University; NIH Fellow; 1994-96; Assistant Professor of Chemistry at University of Tennessee; dgjyoung@utk.edu

Ken Shimizu;
Ph. D. with J. Rebek at MIT; NIH Fellow; 1995-97; Professor of Chemistry at University of South Carolina; shimizu@psc.sc.edu

Bridget Cole; Ph. D. with B. Snider at Brandeis; NIH Fellow; 1995-97; Director of Chemistry at Flatley Discovery Lab; bridgetmcole@flatleydiscoverylab.com

Enrique Gomez-Bengoa; Ph. D. with A. Echavarren; Spain Ministry of Education Fellow; 1995-97; Assistant Professor of Organic Chemistry at Universidad del Pais Vasco, San Sebastian, Spain; enrique.gomez@ehu.es

Joseph Harrity; Ph. D. with W. Kerr at University of Strathelyde; 1994-97; Professor at University of Sheffield, UK; j.harrity@shef.ac.uk

Carolyn Dzierba; Ph. D. with K. Shea at University of California, Irvine; Albemarle Fellow; 1997-99; Research Scientist at
Bristol-Myers Squibb; Carolyn.Dzierba@bms.com

Gair Ford; Ph. D. with V. Aggarwal at University of Sheffield; 1998-99; Research Scientist at
AstraZeneca Pharmaceuticals

Wolfgang Wirschun; Ph. D. with J. Jochims at the University of Konstanz; Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft Fellow


Stanley Kolis; Ph. D. with D. Harman at University of Virginia; 1997-99; Research Scientist at Eli Lilly; Kolis_Stanley@Lilly.com

Jeff Houser; Ph. D. with H. Davies at SUNY Buffalo; 1998-2000; Research Scientist at Bristol-Myers Squibb; jeffrey.houser@bms.com

Markus Isler; Ph. D. with R. Ghadiri at Scripps Research Institute; Novartis Fellow; and Fellow of the Swiss National Science Foundation; 1999-01; Research Scientist at Actelion Pharmaceuticals Ltd.; misler@fastdial.net

Hirotake Mizutani; Ph. D. with T. Honda at Hoshi University; 1999-01; Research Scientist at Millennium Pharmaceuticals; hiro.mizutani@mpi.com

Tao Liu; Ph. D. with B. Snider at Brandeis University; AstraZeneca Fellow; 2000-02; Research Scientist at Infinity Pharmaceuticals; tliu@ipi.com

Andrew Kiely; Ph. D. with J. Bercaw at California Institute of Technology; 2000-02; Principal Scientist at Sigma Aldrich.

Jae-Kyung Jung; Ph. D. with Y. Suh at Seoul National University; Korean Science & Engineering Foundation Fellow; 2002-03; Assistant Professor at the College of Pharmacy, Chungbuk National University; orgjkjung@chungbuk.ac.kr

Hongbo Deng; Ph. D. with J. Konopelski at University of California, Santa Cruz; 2001-03; Research Scientist at Vertex Pharmaceuticals; Hongbo_Deng@vrtx.com

Xin Teng; Ph. D. with F. Sato at Tokyo Institute of Technology; 2001-03; Medicinal Chemist at the Laboratory for Drug Discovery in Neurodegeneration, Harvard University; xteng@rics.bwh.harvard.edu

Richard R. Cesati III; Ph. D. with J. Katzenellenbogen at University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign; NIH Fellow; 2001-03; Research Scientist at Lantheus Medical Imaging.

Andrew Larsen; Ph. D. with M. Gange at University of North Carolina; NIH Fellow; 2002-04; Merchant & Gould: An Intellectual Property Law Firm; alarsen@merchantgould.com

Osamu Kataoka; Ph. D. with M. Hanaoka at Kanazawa University; 2001-04; Research Scientist at Takeda Pharmaceutical Company.

Alessandra Puglisi; Ph. D. with M. Cinquini at University of Milan; University of Milan Postdoctoral Fellow; 2003-04; Researcher at University of Milan; alessandra.puglisi@unimi.it

Toshio Shinohara; Ph. D. with Hiroaki Sasai at Osaka Universit; Research Fellow of the Japan Society for the Promotion of Science; 2003-05; Research Scientist at Otsuka Pharmaceutical; toshio_shinohara@research.otsuka.co.jp

Jing Wu; Ph. D. with Albert S. C. Chan at the Hong Kong Polytechnic University; 2004-05; Professor at Hangzhou Normal University; wujing_hz@yahoo.com

Ai-Lan Lee;
Ph. D. with Steven Ley at the University of Cambridge; Lindemann Trust Research Fellow 2004-06; Lecturer at Heriot Watt University; A.Lee@hw.ac.uk

Carl Baxter; Ph. D. with Stephen Clark at the University of Nottingham; Fulbright Distinguished Scholars Award Postdoctoral Fellow 2004-06; Research Scientist at Merck; carl_baxter2@merck.com

John Campbell; Ph. D. with Steven Burke at the University of Wisconsin-Madison; 2004-06; Principal Scientist at Epizyme; jcampbell@epizyme.com

Oscar Navarro; Ph. D. with Steven Nolan at the University of New Orleans; 2005-06; Senior Lecturer at the University of Sussex; O.Navarro@sussex.ac.uk

Emma Carswell; Ph. D. with William Kerr at the University of Strathclyde; 2004-06; Senior Scientist at CRT Discovery Laboratories at London

Clifton Leigh; Ph. D. with Carolyn Bertozzi at the University of California, Berkeley; 2005-06;Research Scientist at Cubist Pharmaceuticals

Sung-Gon Lim; Ph. D. with Chul-Ho Jun at Yonsei University; Korea Research Foundation Fellow 2006-07; Postodoctoral Fellow with Catharine Larsen at UC Riverside; sunggonl@ucr.edu

Masayuki Hasegawa; Ph. D. with Shuji Kanemasa at Kyshu University; 2007-08; Research Scientist at Sumitomo Chemical; hasegawam@sc.sumitomo-chem.co.jp

Hiroki Mandai; Ph. D. with Teruaki Mukaiyama at Tokyo University of Science; Yamada Research Foundation Fellow 2006-08; Assistant Professor at Okayama University; mandai@cc.okayama-u.ac.jp

Katsuhiro Akiyama; Ph. D. with Koichi Mikami at Tokyo Institute of Technology; 2007-09; Research Scientist at Central Glass Co., Ltd.; katsuhiro.akiyama@cgco.co.jp

Yeon-Ju Lee; Ph. D. with Sang-sup Jew at Seoul National University; 2007-09; Research Scientist at the Korea Ocean Research & Development Institute

Pamela Lombardi; Ph. D. with James Leighton at Columbia University; 2006-09; Assistant Professor at Stonehill College; plombardi1@stonehill.edu

Ismail Ibrahem; Ph. D. with Armando Cordova at Stockholm University; Swedish Research Council Fellow 2008-09; Associate Professor at Mid-Sweden University; ismail.ibrahem@miun.se

Aikomari Guzman-Martinez; Ph. D. with Michael VanNieuwenhze at University of California, San Diego; NIH Postdoctoral Fellow 2008-2010; Assistant Professor at Universidad de Puerto Rico, recinto de Mayagüez, aikomari.guzman@upr.edu

Tatiana Pilyugina; Ph. D. with Richard Schrock at Massachusetts Institute of Technology; 2008-2010; Senior Research Scientist at Aramco Research Center - Boston; tatiana.pilyugina@aramcoservices.com

Simon Meek; Ph. D. with Joe Harrity at the University of Sheffield; 2006-2011; Assistant Professor at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; sjmeek@unc.edu

Rosa Corberan; Ph. D. with Eduardo Peris at the Universitat Jaume I; 2008-2011; Research Scientist at BASF; rosa.corberan-roc@basf.com

Kensha Clark; Ph. D. with Alan Heyduk at UC Irvine; NIH Postdoctoral Fellow 2010-2011; Assistant Professor at the University of Memphis; kclark17@memphis.edu

James Carr; Ph. D. with Alan Spivey at the Imperial College; 2009-2011; Research Scientist at CRT Discovery Laboratories at London; jcarr@cancertechnology.com

Chenbo Wang; Ph. D. with Peter Wipf at the University of Pittsburgh; 2009-2012; Scientist ll at Nurix; chenbow@gmail.com

Elizabeth Kiesewetter; Ph. D. with Robert Waymouth at Stanford University; 2010-2013; Visiting Scientist at University of Rhode Island; liz.kiesewetter@gmail.com

Daniel Robbins; Ph. D. with John Hartwig at University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign; 2012-2013; Scientist at Nirux; drobbins@nurix-inc.com

Byunghyuck Jung; Ph. D. with Sung Ho Kang at the Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (KAIST); 2010-2013; Assistant Professor at Daegu Gyeongbuk Institute of Science & Technology; byunghyuck.jung@dgist.ac.kr

Alex Speed; Ph. D. with David A. Evans at Harvard University; 2012-2015; Assistant Professor at Dalhousie University; aspeed@dal.ca

Hanmo Zhang; Ph. D. with Dennis P. Curran at University of Pittsburgh; 2013-2015; Scientist at Amgen; hanmoz@amgen.com

Changming Qin; Ph. D. with Huw M. L. Davies at Emory University; 2014-2015; Process Scientist I at Vertex; changming_qin@vrtx.com

Xiben Li; Ph. D. with Dennis Curran at University of Pittsburg; 2014-2016; Research Scientist II at Macrolide Phramaceuticals; xli@macrolide.com

Fanke Meng; Ph. D. with Amir H. Hoveyda and Boston College; 2015-2016; Full Professor at Shanghai Institute of Organic Chemistry;mengf@sioc.ac.cn

 

Former Visiting Scholars

Naoyuki Harada; Ph. D. with T. Hino at the Graduate School of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Chiba University; 2002-03; Research Scientist at Mitsubishi Tanabe Pharma

Hiroshi Miyamoto, Ph. D. with Susumu Kobayashi at Tokyo University of Science; Research Scientist at Daiichi Sankyo Co.

Kentaro Okano, Ph. D. with Tohru Fukuyama at University of Tokyo; Associate Professor at Kobe University

Ekaterina Smirnova, Graduate Student at Institut Catala d'Investigacio' Quimica

Atsuhiro Iimuro, Graduate Student at Osaka University

Alexey Volkov, Graduate Student at Stockholm University

Zacharia Nairoukh, Ph. D. with Ilan Marek at Technion

Anna Closs, Graduate Student at Ludwig Maximilian University of Munich

Damian Santos Padin Graduate Student at University of Santiago de Compostela

 

Former Graduate Students

Michael Hale, Ph.D. (1990-1994): Senior Director of Medicinal Chemistry at Ra Pharmaceuticals; mhale@rapharma.com

Ahmad Houri, Ph.D. (1991-1995): Associate Professor at Lebanese American University; ahouri@lau.edu.lb

Jim Morken, Ph.D. (1991-1995): Professor of Chemistry at Boston College; morken@bc.edu

Mary Didiuk, Ph.D. (1992-1996): Medicinal Chemistry Professional

Zhongmin Xu, Ph.D. (1990-1996): Research Scientist at Bristol-Myers Squibb

Michael Visser, Ph.D. (1993-1997): Research Scientist at Novartis; michael.visser@novartis.com

Charles Johannes, Ph.D. (1993-1998): Head of Organic Chemistry at the Institute of Chemical and Engineering Sciences and an Adjunct Associate Professor at Nanyang Technological University.; cjohannes@ntu.edu.sg

Nicola Heron, Ph.D. (1994-1998): Programme Director at National Institute for Health Research at Sheffield, England

Jeff Adams, Ph.D. (1995-2000): Director of Process Chemistry at SCYNEXIS

Daniel La, Ph.D. (1995-2000): Research Scientist at
Sage Therapuetics; daniel.la@sagerx.com

Dustin Cefalo, Ph.D. (1996-2001): Director of Applied Technology at Frontier Scientific, Inc.; dcefalo@frontiersci.com

Kevin Kuntz, Ph.D. (1997-2002): Vice President of Molecular Discovery at Ribon Therapeutics

Courtney Luchaco-Cullis, Ph.D. (1997-2002): Research Scientist at Millennium Pharmaceuticals; cullis@mpi.com

Judy De Armas Kuntz, Ph.D. (1997-2002): Patent Attorney at Cooley LLP

Gabriel Weatherhead, Ph.D. (1997-2003): Research Scientist at Millennium Pharmaceuticals; Gabriel.Weatherhead@mpi.com

Jason Kingsbury, Ph.D. (1997-2003): Assistant Professor of Chemistry at California Lutheran University; jkingsbu@callutheran.edu

Steven Garber, Ph.D. (1998-2003): Faculty member at Front Range Community College in Fort Collins; steven.garber@frontrange.edu

Sylvia Degrado, Ph.D. (1998-2003): Research Scientist at The Chemistry Research Solution

Jesper Jernelius, Ph.D. (1999-2004): Research Scientist at Medivation


Nathan Josephsohn, Ph.D. (1999-2004): Director of External Innovation Development at Dainippon Sumitomo Pharma


Kerry Murphy, Ph.D. (1999-2004): Research Scientist at Moderna Therapeutics; Kerry.benenato@modernatx.com


Josh Van Veldhuizen, Ph.D. (1999-2004): Research Scientist at Gilead Sciences; vanveldh@hotmail.com


Dawn Mampreian, M.S. (2001-2005): Prinicple Research
Associate at Moderna Therapeutics; dawn.mampreian@modernatx.com

Alexander Hird, Ph.D. (2000-2005): Associate Director at AstraZeneca Pharmaceuticals; Alexander.Hird@astrazeneca.com

Laura Akullian, Ph.D. (2001-2006): Research Scientist at Avila Therapeutics; ldagostino@avilatx.com

Monica Kacprzynski, Ph.D. (2001-2006): Research Scientist at Bristol-Myers Squibb; monica.fitzgerald@bms.com

Elizabeth Sattely, Ph.D. (2000-2006): Assistant Professor of Chemical Engineering at Stanford University; sattely@stanford.edu


Dennis Gillingham, Ph.D. (2001-2007): Associate Professor of Chemistry at the University of Basel; dennis.gillingham@unibas.ch

Alex Cortez, Ph.D. (2001-2007): Research Scientist at the Genomics Institute of the Novartis Research Foundation; acortez@gnf.org

Donna (Friel) Montavon, M.S. (2004-2008): Scientist I, Formulation Sciences at Abbvie, donna.montavon@abbvie.com

Laura Wieland Brown, Ph.D. (2002-2008): Lecturer at Indiana University; brownlcb@indiana.edu

M. Kevin Brown, Ph.D. (2002-2008): Associate Professor of Chemistry at Indiana University; mkbrown@indiana.edu

Kyoko Mandai, M.S. (2006-2009): Research Assistant at Okayama University; mandaik@bc.edu

Yunmi Lee, Ph.D. (2004-2010): Assistant Professor of Chemistry at Kwangwoon University; ymlee@kw.ac.kr

KangSang Lee, Ph.D. (2004-2010): Senior Researcher at Dow Corning; kangsang.lee@dowcorning.com

Steven Malcolmson, Ph.D. (2004-2010): Assistant Professor of Chemistry at Duke University; steven.malcolmson@duke.edu

Adil Zhugralin, Ph.D. (2004-2010): Technology Specialist at Clark and Elbing, LLP; azhugralin@clarkelbing.com

Tricia May, Ph.D. (2004-2011): Research Scientist at Biogen; tricia.maydracka@biogen.com

Robert O'Brien, Ph.D. (2006-2012): Research Scientist at Impossible Foods; bobby.obrien@impossiblefoods.com

Jamie Garcia, Ph.D. (2006-2012): Research Staff Member at IBM-Almaden; jmgarcia@us.ibm.com

Jennifer Dabrowski, Ph.D. (2007-2013): Assistant Professor of Chemistry at Elon University; jdabrowski@elon.edu

Erika Araujo (Vieira), Ph.D. (2006-2013): Research Investigator at Bristol-Myers Squibb; Erika.araujo@bms.com

Fang Gao, Ph.D. (2007-2013): Research Scientist at Biogen; fang.gao@biogen.com

Miao Yu, Ph.D. (2007-2013): Research Scientist at Bristol-Myers Squibb; Miao.Yu@bms.com

Rana Kashif M. Khan, Ph.D. (2008-2014): Postdoctoral Fellow with Stephen Buchwald at Massachusetts Institute of Technology; rkkhan@mit.edu

Dan Silverio, Ph.D. (2007-2014): Assistant Professor of Organic Chemistry at Adelphi University; dsilvervio@adelphi.edu

Hao Wu, Ph.D. (2009-2015): Senior Scientist at Boehringer Ingelheim; hao_2.wu@boehringer-ingelheim.com

Brett Johnson, M.S. (2014-2015): Senior Chemist at Eli Lilly; johnson_brett_michael@lilly.com

Fanke Meng, Ph. D. (2010-2015): Full Professor at Shanghai Institute of Organic Chemistry;mengf@sioc.ac.cn

Kevin McGrath, Ph.D. (2009-2016): Research Scientist at Enanta; kmcgrath@enanta.com

Tyler Mann, Ph.D. (2009-2016): Postdoctoral Associate with Mahesh Mahanthappa at University of Minnesota; mann0357@umn.edu

Hwanjong Jang, Ph.D. (2009-2016): Postdoctoral Associate with Li Deng at Brandeis University; clotho47@brandeis.edu

Suttipol Radomkit, Ph.D. (201
0-2016): Senior Scientist at Boehringer Ingelheim; suttipol.radomkit@boehringer-ingelheim.com

Zeyu Huang, M.S. (2015-2017):

Nicholas Mszar, Ph.D. (2010-2017): Research Scientist at PTC Therapeutics; nmszar@ptcbio.com

 

 

Selected Former Undergraduates

Nina Horan

Derek Cogan

Christine DiBlasi

Eric Alexanian:
Assistant Professor of Chemistry at University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
; eja@email.unc.edu

Brian L. Gray

John Gleason

Jonathan Giftos

Rebecca Simmons

David Moebius

Stephanie Kazane


Jack Conway

Kevin Wu

Matthew Villaume

Aran Hubbell

Change jobs?
Don't see your e-mail address?

Tell the webmaster and we'll fix it right away!