MT 004, Finite Probability & Applications

Lectures:
MT00407: MWF 1:00- 01:50 in Gasson 210
MT00408: MWF 3:00- 03:50 in Gasson 302

Office Hours: Monday 2-2.50, Tuesday 11.30-12.30 and Wednesday 11-11.50, or by appointment.

Syllabus

Textbook: Finite Mathematics and its Applications, Third Custom Edition for Boston College, by Goldstein, Schneider, Siegel.

Homework (All homework assigments are from the textbook unless noted otherwise. For homework solutions log into Canvas.)

  • Homework 1 (due Wednesday Sep 10):
    Section 5.1:   2, 8, 14, 24, 46, 48
  • Homework 2 (due Wednesday Sep 17):
    Section 5.2:   6, 14, 18, 24, 32, 50, 58
    Section 5.3:   8, 12, 20, 26, 36, 44, 52
  • Homework 3 (due Wednesday Sep 24):
    Section 5.4:   2, 14, 18, 24, 36, 54
    Section 5.5:   2, 6, 30, 46, 50, 60
    Section 5.6:   4, 12, 24, 28, 42
  • Homework 4 (due Wednesday Oct 1):
    Section 5.7:   2, 18, 26 , 30, 32, 38, 40
  • Homework 5 (due Wednesday Oct 8):
    Section 6.1:   4, 6, 10, 20
    Section 6.2:   8, 12, 20, 22, 26, 36
  • Homework 6 (due Wednesday Oct 15):
    Section 6.3:   6, 10, 16, 26, 34, 41, 46
    Section 6.4:   2, 6, 14, 22, 24, 34, 48, 54, 62
  • Homework 7 (due Wednesday Oct 22):
    Section 6.5:   4, 10, 16, 22, 32, 38, 47, 48
  • Homework 8 (due Wednesday Oct 29):
    Section 6.6:   2, 8, 12, 18, 22
  • Homework 9 (due Wednesday Nov 5):
    Section 7.1:   2, 6, 8, 12, 14, 16, 20, 24
  • Homework 10 (due Wednesday Nov 12):
    Section 7.2:   2, 6, 12, 18, 20, 26, 28
    Section 7.3:   10, 24, 28, 30, 34
  • Homework 11 (due Wednesday Nov 19):
    Section 7.3:   38, 40, 44, 46, 52, 56
    Section 7.4:   2, 4, 10, 14, 16
  • Homework 12 (due Monday Nov 24):
    Section 7.4:   24, 28, 34, 38, 44
    Section 7.5:   4, 8, 12, 18, 20
  • Homework 13 (due Wednesday Dec 3):
    Section 7.6:   2, 12, 14, 18, 20, 26, 28, 32, 36, 42
  • Homework 14 (due Wednesday Dec 10):
    Section 7.7:   2, 5, 10, 12, 14, 18, 19