inferno1 The Inferno, which translates to "hell" in Italian, is the first part of Dante's Divine Comedy.  This part contains dead sinners who did not pray for forgiveness before death, and the inferno is arranged in nine concentric circles:  Limbo, Lust, Gluttony, Anger, Heresy, Violence, Fraud, and Treachery.  Within each circle are the sinners who chiefly committed the respective offense, which increase in seriousness from Limbo to Treachery.  The inhabitants of each circle are doomed to slave away with a punishment fitting their life's crimes.