Boston College Swimming & Diving - 2008

HAROLD M. GRODEN MD AWARD - Outstanding Performance

This award is named after the coach’s father. It is given to a swimmer or diver for the outstanding individual performance of the season - in a situation where he or she ‘rose to the occasion’ for the benefit of the team. Dr. Groden was a Boston College athlete (hockey - class of ‘35) and recognized the importance of competition and striving for excellence in athletics as well as academics.

This has always been one of my favorite awards. To me it is the essence of competition. It is not about times or just winning a race – it is about taking yourself to a higher level as a competitor. It is about seeing a need that your team has at that time and fulfilling that need not just with your best effort, but with that combination of effort and result that make a team succeed due to your success.

2008 Award Winners

HAROLD M. GRODEN MD AWARD - Outstanding Performance

Boston College at Colgate University

Boston College 152 - Colgate University 142

Caryn Switaj ’10 Farmington Hills, Michigan

Colgate, Colgate, Colgate ….. how this team must be so tired of us. For the third year in a row the winner of the Groden Award for the Outstanding Performance of the year comes from another improbable win by the Eagles over the Raiders of Colgate University. To be honest, each year Colgate has seemed to be a better team than BC, but each year when the meet is done – BC has more points. It just points out that a competition just shows who is better that day.
Colgate again seemed to dominate the meet – particularly with wins. They captured five of the first six events before BC wins in both sprints and the one meter diving got BC back into the meet. The visiting Raiders then added three more firsts – in the 200 back, the 200 breast and the 500 freestyle.
The Eagles best chance to pull this meet out was coming up in the 100 butterfly – thank God for touchpads. The top five swimmers in the race all finished within eight one hundredths of a second. The winner in the race (by one one hundredth) and the winner of this season’s HM Groden Award is Caryn Switaj ’10. Caryn’s 1:00.48 topped the field with Colgate turning in a 1:00.49 and a 1:00.52 followed by Anna Smith and Caitlin Doherty tied at 1:00.57. Colgate would go on to take two of the last three events but BC prevailed again by a 153-143 score.